Languages

You can find this section in HostBill Admin → Settings → General Settings → Language Settings.


Table of contents

Overview


HostBill can support all kind of languages, you can create your own language pack or edit those already installed.

Add new language

To add new language click on the Add new language button in Language Settings section. In the newly displayed menu insert:

  • Your language name
  • Language icon - an icon that will be displayed in client area next to your language, while the client chooses the language. If you want to upload an icon use 16x11 pixel gif image and rename it according to the example it.gif -> lang_italian. 
  • Language targeted area - target option specifies for whom you wish to add new language, as HostBill uses two kinds of translations, one dedicated for user sections, and another only for admin area.
  • Copy from language - when creating new language, HostBill will copy all translation lines from this selected language to your new language.

Once you Save Changes and the page reloads you will see your new language on the list, in the specified category (client or admin languages section)

Import Language

To import a language to HostBill click on the Import new language button in Language Settings section. In the newly displayed menu insert:

  • File name -  select your language file to import (you can download additional language files from here.)
  • Provide your language name - this field is optional, if left empty HostBill will use file name for your language.
  • Language targeted area - target option specifies for whom you wish to add new language, as HostBill uses two kinds of translations, one dedicated for user sections, and another only for admin area.
  • Copy from language - when creating new language, HostBill will copy all translation lines from this selected language to your new language.

Once you Save Changes and the page reloads you will see your new language on the list, in the specified category (client or admin languages section)

Manage languages

You chose witch languages clients and admins can use (by clicking enable/disable button next to the language name), export your languages to file or delete them completely from your HostBill.

Delete language

To delete a language, click on the Delete button and accept the confirmation popup.

Export language

If you want to export languages, click on the Export button, depending on your browser, download will start automatically or you will have to specify location where the language file will be saved.

Disable/Enable language

To disable a language click on the corresponding radio button labelled Disable, to enable, click the oposite Enable radio button.


Manage translations

You can manage translation by clicking Edit button near a language you want to edit.

Add new translations

To add new translation first you need to chose a section to which translation should apply. Global section is always available in templates, other sections are dedicated to special pages eg: langedit section of admin targeted language corresponds to Language settings page. You can also create a new custom section by clicking Custom section button.

  1. To add new translation lines, click on the edit button and a new empty line should appear.

  2. Enter a keyword name in the first input field - this keyword will be used to access your translation line.

  3. In the second field, enter your translated text.

  4. When done, click on the Save Changes button.


Note

  • When adding new lines to a language, they are added globally, to all installed languages.

  • When creating new custom section, you have to add at least one translation to it or it won't be saved.

Edit translations

To edit a translation simply click on the Edit button, translation field should now be editable. When done, click Save Changes.

Delete translations

If you want to delete a translation line, click on the Delete button. Translation line will be marked to deletion, and its appearance will change to light red (default). If you change your mind, you can cancel this by clicking Cancel button. When done, click Save Changes

Note:

  • When deleting translations, they are removed globally, from all installed languages.
  • If you want to delete a section, you have to remove all translations from it.

Language management overview: